You asked, we listened! Next month, we are launching a new and improved user profile experience to keep you connected.In the meantime, if you would like to update your profile please contact our office at 507-284-2317 or email us at

2018 Teacher of the Year Awards, Mayo Fellows’ Association – Rochester

The Mayo Fellows’ Association honored Rochester faculty members with Teacher of the Year Awards at an annual awards celebration. The event was sponsored by the Mayo Clinic School of Graduate Medical Education, Mayo Fellows’ Association and Mayo Clinic Alumni Association.

Nominations are made by residents and fellows in the respective departments and voted on by all members of the Mayo Fellows’ Association. Teacher of the Year Awards originated at Mayo Clinic in 1970. A Teacher of the Year Hall of Fame was created in 1986 to recognize those who have received the award three or more times.

Department of Anesthesiology

Paul Warner, M.D. (MED '12, I-1 '13, ANES '16)

Department of Cardiovascular Diseases

Robert Frye, M.D. (CV '62)

Department of Cardiovascular Surgery

Simon Maltais, M.D., Ph.D. (CTRAN '11)

Department of Dental Specialties

Department of Dermatology

Rachel Miest, M.D. (MED '11, I-1 '12, DERM '15)

Department of Emergency Medicine

Tobias Kummer, M.D. (EM '13)

Department of Family Medicine

Thomas Billings, D.O. (FM '99)
Family Medicine — Rochester

Department of Medicine, Outpatient General Internal Medicine

Adam Sawatsky, M.D. (I '10, CMR '11), Division of General Internal Medicine

Department of Medicine, Outpatient Primary Care Internal Medicine

Department of Medicine
Outpatient PCIM
Emily Leasure, M.D. (PCIM ’16)

Department of Medicine, Inpatient and Other Internal Medicine

Deanne Kashiwagi, M.D. (HIM '09) - Teacher of the Year Hall of Fame

Department of Medicine Subspecialties, Allergy-Immunology

Thanai Pongdee, M.D. (AIM '03)

Department of Medicine Subspecialties, Endocrinology

Vinaya Simha, M.D., M.B.B.S. (I '12, ENDO '14)

Department of Medicine Subspecialties, Gastroenterology

Department of Medicine Subspecialties, Hematology-Oncology

Thorvardur Halfdanarson, M.D.

Mrinal Patnaik, M.B.B.S. (HEMO '11), Division of Hematology, Department of Medicine, Mayo Clinic in Rochester

Department of Medicine Subspecialties, Hospice & Palliative


Department of Medicine Subspecialties, Infectious Diseases

John W. Wilson, M.D. (I '97, INFD '00)

Department of Medicine Subspecialties, Nephrology

Kianoush Kashani, M.D. (CCMI '05, CTSA '16)

Department of Medicine Subspecialties, Preventive, Occupational and Aerospace Medicine

Robin Molella, M.D. (MED '90, I '97, PREV '99)

Department of Medicine Subspecialties, Pulmonary-Critical Care Medicine

"How Do Residents Learn Within the Interprofessional Team Setting of the Medical Intensive Care Unit? A Qualitative Study"
Alexander Niven, M.D. (THDCC '16)
Division of Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine
Department of Medicine
Associate professor of medicine
Mayo Clinic Rochester

Department of Medicine Subspecialties, Rheumatology

Matthew Koster, M.D. (CTSA '16, RHEU '16)

Department of Medicine Subspecialties, Sleep Medicine

Bernardo Selim, M.D. (THDC '11)
Sleep Medicine

Department of Neurologic Surgery

"Learning in 4D: Simulation, 3D Printing, and the Future of Skull Base Education"
MIchael Link, M.D. (MED '90, NS '96)
Department of Neurologic Surgery
Professor of neurosurgery
Mayo Clinic Rochester

Department of Neurology

Alejandro Rabinstein, M.D. (CCM-N '02)

Nathan Young, D.O. (I-1 '04, N '07, N-EMG '08)

Department of Obstetrics & Gynecology

Mari Trinidad, M.D. (CTSA '16, MFM '16)

Department of Ophthalmology

Wendy M. Smith, M.D. (OPH '12)
Assistant professor of ophthalmology

Department of Orthopedic Surgery

Teacher of the Year

Brandon Yuan, M.D. (MED '09, OR '14)

Department of Otolaryngology & Audiology

Matthew Carlson, M.D. (ENT '12)

Department of Pathology, Anatomic Pathology

Karen Fritchie, M.D. (APATH '11)

Department of Pathology, Clinical Pathology

Dong Chen, M.D., Ph.D. (HEMP '07)
Chair, Division of Hematopathology
Department of Laboratory Medicine and Pathology
Professor of laboratory medicine and pathology

Department of Pediatrics & Subspecialties

Department of Pediatric and Adolescent Medicine and subspecialties
Jason Homme, M.D. (MED ’99, PD ’02, PDCMR ’03) — Reaffirmed in Hall of Fame

Megan Thorvilson, M.D. (PD ’16)

Department of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation

Department of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation
Jeffrey Basford, M.D., Ph.D. (PMR ’82)

Department of Psychiatry and Psychology – Psychiatry

Jennifer Vande Voort, M.D. (MED '08, P '10, CAP '12)

Department of Psychiatry and Psychology – Psychology

Craig Sawchuk, Ph.D. (P ’13)

Department of Radiation Oncology

Christopher Hallemeier, M.D. (RADO '13)

Radiation Physics

John Antolak, Ph.D. (RADO '04)

Department of Radiology

Douglas Brown, M.D. (R-D '03)

Norbert Campeau, M.D. (I '91, R-D '96, BIOC '97, R-NEU '98)

Department of Surgery & Subspecialties

Karim Bakri, M.B.B.S. (PLS ’12)

Jorys Martinez-Jorge, M.D. (PLS ’14)

Department of Urology

Douglas Husmann, M.D. (U '91), the Dr. Anson L. Clark Professor of Urology - Teacher of the Year Hall of Fame

Mayo Clinic Health System

Glenn Gaunt, M.D. (OBG '03)


Recommended reading

Posts about similar topics:

Shopping cart0
There are no products in the cart!