You asked, we listened! Next month, we are launching a new and improved user profile experience to keep you connected.In the meantime, if you would like to update your profile please contact our office at 507-284-2317 or email us at

Professional Achievement Award

Professional Achievement AwardThe Mayo Clinic Alumni Association Professional Achievement Award acknowledges exceptional contributions by an alum in a clinical, research, educational or administrative field. The recipient(s) will demonstrate the commitment of the Mayo brothers to practice, education and research.

As Charles H. Mayo, M.D., said, “Medicine gives only to those who give, but her reward for those who serve is ‘finer than much fine gold.'”

The Professional Achievement Award is presented at the biennial meeting of the Alumni Association. Recipient(s) must attend the biennial meeting in order to receive the award.

Selection criteria

Alumni of Mayo Clinic who are in active practice and meet one or more of the following criteria will be considered:

  • Provide exceptional leadership in clinical medicine
  • Promote the art and science of medicine through education
  • Have shown significant leadership ability
  • Are recognized for contributions to the research community
  • Have had early career accomplishments with significant potential for further accomplishments.
  • Nomination Deadline: March 1, 2023


Please submit the following to nominate a member of the Mayo Clinic Alumni Association for this award. Nominations must be submitted by another Mayo alumnus.

  • A completed nomination form
  • A letter of nomination, which should include specific examples of how the nominee has exceeded expectations in his or her area
  • The nominee’s curriculum vitae and bibliography
  • At least three, but no more than five letters of recommendation
  • Supporting information, which may include letters of commendation, awards, newspaper articles or other information

A selection committee composed of representatives from the Mayo Clinic Alumni Association reviews the applications and makes the final selection.



YearRecipientMayo Training
2023Gregory Gores, M.D.Internal Medicine (1983), Gastroenterology (1986)
2023Audrey Nelson, M.D.Internal Medicine (1969), Rheumatology (1971)
2021J. Michael Bacharach, M.D.Internal Medicine (1989), Cardiovascular Disease (1992)
2019Claudette Lajam, M.D.Orthopedics (2004)
2017Jon V. Thomas, M.D.Med School (1988), Otolaryngology (1993)
2015Alan Sessler, M.D.Anesthesiology (1962)
2013William Oliver Jr., M.D.Anesthesiology (1987)
2011John R. Wheat, M.D.Internal Medicine (1983)
2009Nicholas F. LaRusso, M.D.Internal Medicine (1972), Gastroenterology (1975)
2007 John Cantwell, M.D.Internal Medicine (1968)
2005Shigeaki Kobayashi, M.D., Ph.D.Surgery (1966), Neurosurgery (1971)
2003Bernard Harris Jr., M.D.Internal Medicine (1985)
Shopping cart0
There are no products in the cart!