You asked, we listened! Next month, we are launching a new and improved user profile experience to keep you connected.In the meantime, if you would like to update your profile please contact our office at 507-284-2317 or email us at

Mayo Clinic Alumni Association Board of Directors

The Mayo Clinic Alumni Association Board of Directors has 34 members. Members serve six-year terms and at a minimum attend annual board meetings. The board:

  • Provides leadership
  • Makes policy decisions
  • Decides strategic direction and vision

An Executive Committee serves as the operational branch of the Board, assisting the Alumni Center in carrying out the daily management of the business of the Alumni Association and ensuring that the strategic direction set by the Board is carried out.

To learn about becoming a Board member, visit the nomination information page.

Officers and Executive Committee of the Mayo Clinic Alumni Association Board of Directors

  • Theresa S. Emory, M.D. (PATH ’94), Williamsburg, Virginia – President 
  • Burkhard Wippermann, M.D. (BIOM ’87), Hildesheim, Germany – President Elect
  • Melanie L. Brown, M.D. (MED ’98), Baltimore, Maryland – Vice President
  • M. Molly McMahon, M.D. (ENDO ’87), Rochester, Minnesota – Secretary-Treasurer
  • Carl L. Backer, M.D. (MED ’80), Winnetka, Illinois –  Past President
  • Judith D. Anderson, Rochester, Minnesota – Director
  • Gerardo Colon-Otero, M.D. (I ’82, HEM ’84), Jacksonville, Florida – ex officio
  • Elizabeth Cozine, M.D. (MED ’11, FM ’14), Rochester, Minnesota (term expires 2024)
  • Dawn Marie Davis, M.D. (PD ’03, DERM ’06), Rochester, Minnesota – Alumni Center medical director, ex officio
  • Eddie Greene, M.D. (NEPH ’00), Rochester, Minnesota – philanthropy role
  • Michael Pham, M.D., (I ’16, RHEU ’19), Scottsdale, Arizona (term expires 2027)
  • Darcy Reed, M.D., M.P.H., (MED ’00, I ’03), Rochester, Minnesota (term expires 2027)
  • Virginia Shapiro, Ph.D., (IMM ’08), Rochester, Minnesota (term expires 2027)
  • Olayemi (Yemi) Sokumbi, M.D. (MED ’09, I1 ’10, DERM ’13), Jacksonville, Florida (term expires 2024)

Mayo Clinic Alumni Association Board of Directors

Term expires 2024

Term expires 2025

Term expires 2029

  • Swarna Balasubramaniam, M.D., (MED ‘92, S ‘99) Sugar Land, Texas
  • Linda Drozdowicz, M.D. (MED ‘14) Darien, Connecticut
  • Saiyid (Akbar) Hasan, M.D. (TY ‘97) Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida
  • Stephen Hogan, M.D. (PATH ‘90) Corvallis, Oregon
  • Elizabeth Nesset Ferguson, M.D. (S ‘08, PLS ‘10) Cave Creek, Arizona
  • Matthew Wendt, M.D. (OR ’12) Charlotte, North Carolina

Mayo Clinic Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences and Mayo Clinic Alix School of Medicine representatives

  • Laura Faubion (MED ’25), Mayo Clinic Alix School of Medicine, Rochester, Minnesota
  • Erik Verhey (MED ’25), Mayo Clinic Alix School of Medicine, Scottsdale, Arizona
  • Kiyan Heybati (MED ’25), Mayo Clinic Alix School of Medicine, Jacksonville, Florida
  • Rameen Shah (BMB ’25), Mayo Clinic Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences, Rochester, Minnesota

Mayo Clinic School of Graduate Medical Education representatives

  • Taylor Orton, M.D. (S ’24), Scottsdale, Arizona
  • Hannah Berman, M.D. (I ‘22, DERM ’25), Jacksonville, Florida
  • Elaine Griffeth, M.D. (S ’26, TS ’28), Rochester, Minnesota
Shopping cart0
There are no products in the cart!