Mayo Clinic Alumni Association Edward C. Kendall Award for Meritorious Research

Presented annually, the Mayo Clinic Alumni Association Edward C. Kendall Award for Meritorious Research is awarded in recognition of outstanding research conducted by an individual whose primary appointment is in research. Recipients receive an award of $2,000 and a certificate of accomplishment from the Mayo Clinic Alumni Association.

Selection criteria

The nominee must an M.D. or Ph.D. who received their doctoral degree within the past five years and currently holds a postdoctoral research training appointment (includes research fellows and research associates, but not fellows eligible for the Balfour Award or visiting scientists) approved by the Mayo Clinic Research Committee, or has completed the appointment within the past year. The research used to support nomination should be done at Mayo Clinic during the individual’s first postdoctoral fellowship. Criteria considered include:

  • Originality of ideas
  • Excellence of planning
  • Execution and recording of research
  • Significance of results
  • Initiative and independent work by the nominee in accomplishing the research

In the selection process, no distinction will be made based on the source of research funding, and final acceptance for publication of the research is not a prerequisite for award consideration.

A selection committee of scientists from Mayo Clinic and the Mayo Clinic Alumni Association make the final determination.


Members of the Mayo Clinic faculty should submit the following to make a nomination:

  • A completed nomination form
  • A letter of nomination describing in detail how the nominee meets the award criteria
  • 1-2 page summary from nominee describing their greatest research contributions and why
  • The nominee’s curriculum vitae and bibliography
  • Letters of recommendation (three required, no additional letters accepted)
  • Nomination deadline: January 15, 2023


Year Recipient Year Recipient
2022 Colleen M. Bartman, Ph.D. 2001 Christine Spitzweg, M.D.
2021 Sara Ranjbar, Ph.D. 2000 Lorenz Hofbauer, M.D.
2020 Yang Chen, Ph.D. 1999 James A. Levine, M.D., Ph.D.
2019 Mohamed Seisa, M.D. 1998 Jagjit Gill, Ph.D.
2018 Pengfei Song, Ph.D. 1997 Martin Holtmann, M.D.
2017 Rene Rodriguez-Gutierrez, M.D., MSc 1996 Chuanyue Wu, Ph.D.
2016 Jacqueline K. Limberg, Ph.D. 1995 Larry M. Karnitz, Ph.D., and Grigory Krapivinsky, Ph.D.
2015 Almudena J. Martinez Fernandez, Ph.D. 1994 Chi-Ming Wei, M.D., Ph.D.
2014 Jill N. Barnes, Ph.D. 1993 Merry Jo Oursler, Ph.D.
2013 Clifford D. L. Folmes, Ph.D. 1992 Jian-Yu Lu, Ph.D.
2012 Darren P. Casey, Ph.D. 1991 James Lechleiter, Ph.D.
2011 Jennifer Whitwell, Ph.D. 1990 Motoyasu Ishii, M.D.
2010 Ulrike Modder, Ph.D. 1989 Subhashis Banerjee, M.D., and Gobinda Sarkar, Ph.D.
2009 Junhong Han, Ph.D. 1988 Wolf Stapelfeldt, M.D.
2008 Anantha V. Santhanam, Ph.D. 1987 Rebecca S. Bahn, M.D.
2007 Farid Mitri, Ph.D. 1986 Fernando Azpiroz, M.D.
2006 Alejandro Chade, M.D. 1985 Ronald Tucker, Ph.D.
2005 Liewei Wang, M.D., Ph.D. 1984 Barbara Beck, Ph.D.
2004 Ali Canbay, M.D. 1983 Steven Ackerman, Ph.D.
2003 Joerg Herrmann, M.D. 1982 Paula Tracy, Ph.D.
2002 Eduardo N. Chini, M.D. 1981 Michael Nesheim, Ph.D.