You asked, we listened! Next month, we are launching a new and improved user profile experience to keep you connected.In the meantime, if you would like to update your profile please contact our office at 507-284-2317 or email us at

Mayo Clinic Alumni Association Donald C. Balfour Award for Meritorious Research

Presented annually, the Mayo Clinic Alumni Association Donald C. Balfour Alumni Award for Meritorious Research recognizes outstanding research by a Mayo School of Graduate Medical Education resident or fellow whose primary training is in a clinical field.

Ideally, nominated research will involve the translation of basic scientific findings into clinical practice at the patient and population levels. This can be novel hypothesis-driven research, clinical (patient-oriented) research or basic science research. Recipients receive an award of $2,000 and a certificate of accomplishment from the Mayo Clinic Alumni Association.

Selection criteria

The nominee must be a Mayo Clinic resident or fellow who currently holds a clinical appointment — or has completed an appointment within the past year — in medical and laboratory specialties, surgery and surgical specialties, or internal medicine and medical specialties. It is preferred that the research or phase of research considered for an award should be completed prior to nomination. Specific criteria considered include:

  • Originality and significance of the research
  • Strength of letters of reference
  • Number of original publications as first or second author resulting from the nominated research (manuscripts published before Mayo training will not be considered)
  • Number of research or other academic awards
  • Initiative and independent work by the nominee in accomplishing the research
  • Final publication of the research or completion of a thesis for a graduate degree are not prerequisites for consideration for the award

A selection committee of scientists from Mayo Clinic and the Mayo Clinic Alumni Association make the final determination.


Members of the Mayo Clinic faculty should submit the following to make a nomination:

  • A completed nomination form
  • A letter of nomination describing in detail how the nominee meets the award criteria
  • 1-2 page summary from nominee describing their greatest research contributions and why
  • The nominee’s curriculum vitae and bibliography
  • Letters of recommendation (three required, no additional letters accepted)
  • Nomination deadline: December 15, 2023


2023Jacob Orme, M.D., Ph.D.2022Amrit K. Kamboj, M.D.
2021John R. Giudicessi, M.D., Ph.D.2020Christopher Graffeo, M.D.
2019Alberto Rubio Tapia, M.D.2018Yogesh Reddy, M.D.
2017Johnathon M. Aho, M.D.2016Wisit Cheungpasitporn, M.D.
2015Robert J. McDonald, M.D., Ph.D.2014Arthur Beyder, M.D., Ph.D.
2013Sahil Khanna, M.B.B.S.2012Rodolfo Savica, M.D.
2011Jonathan N. Johnson, M.D.2010Howard Masuoka, M.D., Ph.D.
2009Mark J. Truty, M.D.2008Ondrej Lisy, M.D., Ph.D.
2007T. Jared Bunch, M.D.2006R. Houston Thompson, M.D.
2005David Dingli, M.D., Ph.D.2004Sean C. Dowdy, M.D.
2003Ruben A. Mesa, M.D.2002Horng H. Chen, M.D., and Nicholas Vlahakis, M.D.
2001Birgit Kantor, M.D.2000Michael J. Ackerman, M.D., Ph.D.
1999David Cable, M.D.1998Peter A. Brady, M.B., Ch.B., M.D., and Konstantinos N. Lazaridis, M.D.
1997Tracy Stevens, M.D.1996Tushar C. Patel, M.D.
1995Stuart Robert, M.D.1994Amir Lerman, M.D.
1993Kenneth Margulies, M.D.1992Armin Heufelder, M.D., and Mark Perella, M.D.
1991Margaret M. Redfield, M.D., and Michael J. Joyner, M.D.1990Ulrich Specks, M.D.
1989Brooks S. Edwards, M.D.1988David O. Warner, M.D.
1987Shigenobu Kanba, M.D.1986Terrence D. Lagerlund, M.D.
1985Mark S. Allen, M.D.1984Mark R. Pittelkow, M.D., and Roger Tuck, M.D.
1983James Morgan, M.D.1982Kristin Leiferman, M.D.
1981John C. Burnett Jr., M.D.1980Gregory Mathew, M.D.
Shopping cart0
There are no products in the cart!