You asked, we listened! Next month, we are launching a new and improved user profile experience to keep you connected.In the meantime, if you would like to update your profile please contact our office at 507-284-2317 or email us at

46th Annual Award Celebration, Rochester, Minn. April 2015

The Mayo School of Graduate Medical Education, along with the Mayo Clinic Alumni Association and Rochester Mayo Fellows’ Association, are pleased to announce the 2015 annual award recipients, who were honored on April 16, 2015 at a celebration in Rochester, Minn. attended by more than 200 honorees and guests.

Mayo Brothers Distinguished Fellowship Awards

Six residents or fellows, nominated by Mayo Clinic program directors, receive this annual award and are selected based on outstanding clinical performance, humanitarian features, and outstanding scholarly activity. This year’s recipients include:

  • Irene T. Ma, M.D., General Surgery – Arizona
  • John R. Mills, Ph.D., Clinical Chemistry – Rochester
  • William C. Palmer, M.D., Gastroenterology – Florida
  • Marysia S. Tweet, M.D., Cardiovascular Disease – Rochester
  • Adam C. Wright, M.D., Dermatology – Rochester
  • Benjamin Zendejas-Mummert, M.D., General Surgery – Rochester

Kendall and Balfour Awards for Research

The Mayo Clinic Alumni Association announced the recipients of the Edward C. Kendall and Donald C. Balfour Alumni Awards for Meritorious Research.

  • Almudena J. Martinez Fernandez, Ph.D., received the Edward C. Kendall Alumni Award for Meritorious Research, which recognizes outstanding research by a senior research fellow in Mayo School of Graduate Medical Education.
  • Robert J. McDonald, M.D., Ph.D., received the Donald C. Balfour Alumni Award for Meritorious Research, which recognizes outstanding research by a resident of Mayo School of Graduate Medical Education.

Mayo Fellows’ Association Awards

  • Marjorie A. Gresbrink, a Clinical Research Coordinator in the Department of Psychiatry and Psychology, received the Fellows’ Fellow Award, which recognizes a non-physician member of the Mayo Clinic community who has gone above and beyond his or her normal duties to support and assist Rochester’s residents and fellows. Nominees are submitted and selected by the residents and fellows.
  • Jerome (Allen) A. Swanson, Jr, M.D., a resident in Diagnostic Radiology, received the Mayo Fellows’ Association Humanitarian Award, which gives recognition to a member of the Mayo Clinic community who has made significant, enduring contributions to humanity through charitable activities, indigent care, community service or other humanitarian projects. Nominees are submitted and selected by residents and fellows.

Teacher of the Year Awards

Recipients are nominated and voted on by residents and fellows in the respective programs, and 40 teachers were so honored in 2015. In addition, 12 teachers were reaffirmed in the Teacher of the Year Hall of Fame for receiving three or more Teacher of the Year Awards.


Recommended reading

Posts about similar topics:

Shopping cart0
There are no products in the cart!