Alum named president of Mayo Clinic Health System

Prathibha Varkey, M.B.B.S. (CCMI ’01, PREV ’02), is the new president of Mayo Clinic Health System. She succeeds Bobbie Gostout, M.D. (MED ’86, I ’87, OBG ’91, BIOC ’93, GYNO ’96), who retired from Mayo Clinic last year.

Dr. Varkey will lead the strategy and operations of Mayo Clinic Health System’s 17 hospitals and almost 50 community clinics across Minnesota, Wisconsin and Iowa.

Dr. Varkey previously practiced medicine at Mayo Clinic in Rochester for 11 years. She left Mayo Clinic in 2013 to serve as CEO of Seton Clinical Enterprise in Austin, Texas. Dr. Varkey served as president and CEO of Northeast Medical Group at Yale New Haven Health in New Haven, Connecticut, from 2016 until rejoining the Mayo Clinic staff.

Dr. Varkey received her medical degree from Christian Medical College, Vellore, in Tamil Nadu, India. She completed internal medicine residency at Yale New Haven Health’s Hospital of St. Raphael. She has a Masters of Public Health degree from Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health, a Masters of Health Professions Education degree from the University of Illinois Medical Center, an M.B.A. from the University of Minnesota, and an honorary Masters of Arts degree from Yale University.

Recommended reading

Posts about similar topics: