You asked, we listened! Next month, we are launching a new and improved user profile experience to keep you connected.In the meantime, if you would like to update your profile please contact our office at 507-284-2317 or email us at

Claudia Lucchinetti, M.D., receives John Dystel Prize for Multiple Sclerosis Research

Claudia Lucchinetti, M.D. (N ’94, NIMM ’95), chair of the Department of Neurology at Mayo Clinic in Rochester and the Eugene and Marcia Applebaum Professor of Neurosciences, received the John Dystel Prize for Multiple Sclerosis Research for her contributions to understanding and treatment of multiple sclerosis (MS). The award is given by the National MS Society and the American Academy of Neurology (AAN). The received the $15,000 award in April at the AAN annual meeting.

She is one of only a few neurologists in the world with expertise in neuroinflammation. Her research has led to shifts in understanding of central nervous system demyelinating diseases in the past two decades.

This is the second time a Mayo Clinic neurologist has won this prize. Brian Weinshenker, M.D. (N ’92), received it in 2011.

Recommended reading

Posts about similar topics:

Shopping cart0
There are no products in the cart!