Lyell Jones Jr., M.D., receives 2019 ACGME Parker J. Palmer Courage to Teach Award

Lyell Jones Jr., M.D. (I-1 ’01, N ’04, NEMG ’05), Department of Neurology at Mayo Clinic in Rochester, received the 2019 ACGME Parker J. Palmer Courage to Teach Award. The award honors program directors who find innovative ways to teach residents and provide quality health care while remaining connected to the initial impulse to care for others in this environment.

Dr. Jones is an active member of the American Academy of Neurology Consortium of Neurology Program Directors. He developed a comprehensive milestone-compatible assessment system and published a systematic validation study of the system in Neurology. This provided the first list of neurology-specific observable practice activities for the neurology education community, which has been shared with neurology educators nationwide.

Dr. Jones is an associate professor of neurology in the Mayo Clinic College of Medicine and Science.

Recommended reading

Posts about similar topics: