At the request of Mayo Clinic leaders, the Alumni Center team is working remotely but is checking email and telephone messages.In-person shopping for alumni merchandise on the Rochester campus is temporarily suspended. Online merchandise orders may be delayed for as long as two weeks. Thank you for your patience, understanding and ongoing support during this evolving situation.

Highest-rated Mayo Clinic Department of Medicine faculty educators per resident evaluations

Mayo Clinic residents in the Department of Medicine at Mayo Clinic in Rochester evaluated faculty through MedHub, and the following faculty members were among the most highly rated resident educators.

Cardiovascular Diseases

Nandan Anavekar, M.B., B.Ch. (I ’06, CMR ’07, CV ’10, CVEC ’11)
Malcolm Bell, M.D. (PHYS ’90, CV ’92)
John Bois, M.D. (MED ’09, I ’12, CV ’16, CVAD ’17)
Jorge Brenes-Salazar, M.D. (CV ’16, GERI ’16)

Sunil Mankad, M.D.

Rekha Mankad, M.D. (CV ’07)
Sunil Mankad, M.D. (CV ’06)
Robert McBane, II M.D. (I ’91, CV ’96)
Hector Michelena, M.D. (CVAD ’06)

Community Internal Medicine

Suzette Barakat, M.D. (PREV ’17)

Mairead Bartley, M.B., B. Ch., B.A.O., M.D.

Mairead Bartley, M.B., B.Ch., B.A.O., M.D. (N ’15, GERI ’17, PLM ’18)
Denise Dupras, M.D., Ph.D. (MDPH ’89, PHAR ’89, I ’92, ADGM ’93)
Ryan Giddings Connolly, M.D. (I ’14)
Andrew Greenlund, M.D., Ph.D. (I ’99)
Luke Hafdahl, M.D. (I ’14, CMR ’15, I ’15)
Jill Huber, M.D. (I ’11)

Emily Leasure, M.D. (PCIM ’16)
Kyle McKenzie, M.D. (I ’14, GERI ’16)
Jason Post, M.D. (I ’07, CMR ’08)
Joanna Rea, M.D. (I ’04, CMR ’05)
Charles Rohren, M.D. (I ’75)
Henry Schultz, M.D. (I ’78, CIM ’79)
Paul Takahashi, M.D. (I ’97, GERI ’98, CTSA ’15)
Kris Thomas, M.D. (MED ’95, I ’98, CMR ’99)
Ericka Tung, M.D. (I ’04, GERI ’06)
William Ward, M.D. (PCIM ’09)

Emergency Medicine

Benjamin Sandefur, M.D.

Benjamin Sandefur, M.D. (MED ’08)
Cameron Wangsgard, M.D. (EM ’14)


Kurt Kennel, M.D. (I ’99, ENDO ’02)
Neena Natt, M.D. (I ’94, ENDO ’97)
Marius Stan, M.D. (ENDO ’07, CTSA ’11)

Robert Tiegs, M.D.

Robert Tiegs, M.D. (ENDO ’85)

Gastroenterology and Hepatology

Amindra Arora, M.B., B.Chir. (I ’94, GI ’97)
Conor Loftus, M.D. (I ’01, GI ’04)

Amy Oxentenko, M.D.

Amy Oxentenko, M.D. (I ’01, CMR ’02, GI ’05)
Konstantinos Papadakis, M.D. (I ’12)

Laura Raffals, M.D. (GI ’11)

Seth Sweetser, M.D. (GI ’09)

General Internal Medicine

Matthew Bartlett, M.B., B.Ch., B.A.O. (I ’15)

Thomas Beckman, M.D.

Thomas Beckman, M.D. (ADGM ’00)
John Bundrick, M.D. (I ’89)
Brian Dougan, M.D. (I ’99)
Karen Mauck, M.D. (ADGM ’01, CLRSH ’03))
Michael Mikhail, M.D. (ADGM ’99)
Hannah Nordhues, M.D. (I ’17)
Bradley Salonen, M.D. (I ’14)


Adam Sawatsky, M.D. (I ’10, CMR ’11)
Christopher Stephenson, M.D. (I ’15)
Karna Sundsted, M.D. (I ’13)
Jason Szostek, M.D. (MED ’05, I ’08, CMR ’09)
Brianna Vaa Stelling, M.D. (MED ’12, I ’15)
Christopher Wittich, M.D. (MED ’03, I ’06, CMR ’07)


Rajiv Pruthi, M.B.B.S.

Ronald Go, M.D. (HEMO ’00)
Rajiv Pruthi, M.B.B.S. (HEMO ’95)

Hospital Internal Medicine

Deanne Kashiwagi, M.D. (HIM ’09)
William Mundell, M.D. (ARM ’99)

John Ratelle, M.D.

John Ratelle, M.D. (I ’13, CMR ’14)
Syed Ahsan Rizvi, M.D. (HIM ’09)
Neel Shah, M.B., Ch.B. (I ’01, IDOR ’15)

Infectious Diseases

Omar Abu Saleh, M.B.B.S. (INFD ’17, IDOR ’18)

Elie Berbari, M.D.

Elie Berbari, M.D. (INFD ’98)
Daniel DeSimone, M.D. (I ’13, CV ’18, CVEP ’19)

Medical Oncology

Thorvardur Halfdanarson, M.D.

Thorvardur Halfdanarson, M.D. (HEMO ’07)

Nephrology and Hypertension

Amy Williams, M.D.

Robert Albright, D.O. (I ’95, NEPH ’96, CCMI ’97, NEPH ’98)
James Gregoire, M.D. (MED ’86, I ’89, NEPH ’92, PHAR ’92)
Michael Mao, M.D. (I ’12, NEPH ’15)
Amy Williams, M.D. (I ’87, NEPH ’90)


Holly Duck, M.D. (OR ’18)

Palliative Medicine

Cory Ingram, M.D. (GIM ’16)

Daniel Partain, M.D.

Daniel Partain, M.D. (I ’17)

Preventive Medicine

Melanie Swift, M.D. (PREV ’17)

Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine

Craig Daniels, M.D. (I ’01, CI ’03, THDCC ’04)
Eric J. Olson, M.D. (THD ’95, SLEEP ’96)

Tobias Peikert, M.D.

Tobias Peikert, M.D. (THDCC ’07)
Kannan Ramar, M.B.B.S., M.D. (THDCC ’06)
Joseph Skalski, M.D. (I ’12, CMR ’13, THDC ’18)
James Utz, M.D. (MED ’85, I ’88, THDCC ’91)


Uma Thanarajasingam, M.D., Ph.D.

Floranne Ernste, M.D. (I ’06, RHEU ’09)
Uma Thanarajasingam, M.D., Ph.D. (IMM ’08, MDPH ’08, I ’11, CMR ’12, I ’12, RHEU ’15)


Recommended reading

Posts about similar topics: