Mayo Clinic College of Medicine and Science announces Distinguished Educator and Outstanding Emerging Educator awards

Mayo Clinic College of Medicine and Science announces seven faculty members who have been selected to receive the Distinguished Educator Award, and four faculty members will receive the Outstanding Emerging Educator Award for 2020.

Distinguished Educator Award

The Distinguished Educator Award recognizes Mayo Clinic faculty who have significantly contributed to excellence in education throughout their career; have demonstrated leadership and professionalism in education, education research or administration; have been recognized or honored by students or faculty; shown a commitment to diversity; have created new ways of teaching or applied innovative techniques that foster the educational process; contributed to the body of knowledge and methodology in medical education; and have actively mentored junior faculty in education.


Michael Hinni, M.D. (ENT ’93), chair, Department of Otolaryngology-Head & Neck Surgery/Audiology



J. Mark McKinney, M.D. (RD ’93), chair, Department of Radiology

Pamela McLean, Ph.D. (NSCI ’12), Department of Neuroscience


Kenneth Olivier, M.D. (RADO ’02), Department of Radiation Oncology

Jay Ryu, M.D. (I ’82, THD ’85), Division of Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine

Kris G. Thomas, M.D. (MED ’95, I ’98, CMR ’99), Division of Community Internal Medicine

Colin West, M.D., Ph.D. (I ’03, CMR ’04), Division of General Internal Medicine

Recipients of this award are nominated by their peers. Nominees are reviewed by a Mayo Clinic College of Medicine and Science selection committee. All senior voting and consulting staff, as well as physicians and scientists across Mayo Clinic Health System, are eligible for the award. Current deans and associate deans of the five Mayo schools are not eligible.

Outstanding Emerging Educator Award

The Outstanding Emerging Educator Award recognizes staff who have demonstrated exceptional leadership, innovation and commitment to education early in their careers.

This award recognizes physicians, scientists and allied health staff who have served in an education role for 10 years or less at Mayo Clinic and have contributed to Mayo’s education mission. It also recognizes professional development in education and honors those who show great promise for future outstanding contributions to biomedical education.


Megan Wasson, D.O. (GYNM ’16), chair, Gynecology, Department of Medical and Surgical Gynecology


Erik Middlebrooks, M.D. (RD ’18), Department of Radiology

Jose Valery, M.D. (I ’16), Division of Community Internal Medicine


Andrea Leep Hunderfund, M.D. (MED ’05, I1 ’06, N ’09, NEMG ’10), Department of Neurology

Recipients are nominated by their peers. Nominees are reviewed by a selection committee from the Mayo Clinic College of Medicine and Science.



Recommended reading

Posts about similar topics: