Mayo Clinic’s first Advance the Practice Research Awards

Mayo Clinic recognized 14 projects with Advance the Practice Research Awards. The selected projects address unmet clinical needs of patients through development of novel therapeutics, devices, diagnostics or other health care-related products; or development and implementation of novel practice initiatives.

Submissions were evaluated on medical need, potential for commercialization, readiness of the technology or process to advance to the next stage of translation, impact on clinical practice, and strength of the investigative team and any collaborators.

Each selected project receives a $50,000 research award and project management and subject matter expertise from the Center for Clinical and Translational Science (CCaTS) Office of Translation to Practice.

The awards are an initiative of the Office of Translation to Practice in collaboration with the Department of Medicine in Rochester, Mayo Clinic Ventures, Research leadership in Arizona and Florida, and the Center for Connected Care.

Advance the Practice Research Award winners


Principal investigator Timothy DeGrado, Ph.D. (R-D '11), Department of Radiology; professor of radiology: "Noninvasive ImmunoPET Imaging of PD-L1 Using Humanized Anti-PD-L1"

Principal investigator: Kianoush Kashani, M.D. (CCMI '05, CTSA '16)
Division of Nephrology and Hypertension
Division of Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine
Department of Medicine
Mayo Clinic in Rochester

Principal investigator Susan Laabs, M.D. (MED '05, I-1' '06, ANES '07, FM '09), Department of Family Medicine, SW Minnesota Region; instructor in family medicine: "Epic Provider Handbooks: Tools to Increase Provider Efficiency and Reduce Burnout"

Elizabeth Rajan, M.D. (ENDO ’98, GI ’01, GIEU ’02), Division of Gastroenterology and Hepatology, “Flexible Tube-Assist Balloon Dilator With Camera: Self-Dilation of Benign Esophageal Strictures”

Alexander Revzin, Ph.D. (PHYS '16)
Department of Physiology and Biomedical Engineering
Mayo Clinic in Rochester
"A Microfluidic Device for Blood Analysis in Neonates": demonstrating detection of c-reative protein and bilirubin, biomarkers relevant to neonatal monitoring, from a sub-microliter volume of blood

Principal investigator Thom Rooke, M.D. (PHYS '83, I '86, CV '89), Division of Vascular Cardiology, Department of Cardiovascular Medicine; professor of medicine: "Vascular Measurement Device"

Principal investigator: Jamie Van Gompel, M.D. (CI ’11, NS ’12), Department of Neurologic Surgery, Department of Otorhinolaryngology – Head and Neck Surgery, Mayo Clinic Rochester

Collaborators: Gregory Worrell, M.D., Ph.D. (I-1 ’97, N ’00, NPHY ’01), Department of Neurology, Department of Physiology and Biomedical Engineering, Mayo Clinic Rochester

Sanjeet Grewal, M.D. (NS ’20), Department of Neurologic Surgery, Mayo Clinic Florida

Principal investigator Martin Zielinski, M.D. (S '08, CCMS '09), Division of Trauma, Critical Care and General Surgery, Department of Surgery; professor of surgery: "Preclinical Proof-of-Concept Testing of a Noninvasive Hemorrhage Resuscitation Prototype"


Principal investigator Ian Makey, M.D. (CS '17), Department of Cardiothoracic Surgery: "Agitation Evacuation for Pleural Space Disease"

Principal investigator Peter Pollak, M.D. (CVIC '13, CVHD '14), Department of Cardiovascular Medicine; assistant professor of medicine: "Novel Temporary Pacing Wire"


Principal investigator Bernard Bendok, M.D. (NS '16), chair, Department of Neurologic Surgery; professor of neurosurgery: "3-D Tracking-Assisted Functional Brain Region Mapping"

"Rational Design of De Novo Vaccine Vectors by Modulation of Immunodominant Epitopes"
Mitesh Borad, M.D. (HEMO ’19), Division of Hematology and Medical Oncology, Mayo Clinic in Arizona
Abhishek Singharoy, Ph.D., School of Molecular Science, ASU

Recommended reading

Posts about similar topics: