Mayo Clinic Department of General Surgery announces Residency Recognition Awards

The Mayo Clinic Department of General Surgery announced its Residency Recognition Awards. These annual awards acknowledge the essential roles the recipients play in the success of the General Surgery trainees.

Howard Kramer Gray Travel Award

Nicolas Contreras-Peraza, M.D. (MED ’16, S ’21)

Jon A. van Heerden Award

Matthew Hernandez, M.D. (CI ’18, S ’21)

Kaare K. Nygaard Travel Award

Yazan AlJamal, M.B.B.S. (S ’14, S '21)

Trang (Diem) Vu, M.D. (MED ’16, S ’21)

Chief Resident Teacher of the Year Award

Nimesh Naik, M.D. (CI ’17, CRS ’20)

Silver Retractor Award for Outstanding Intern

Matthew Aizpuru, M.D. (S ’24)

Aida Sarcon, M.D. (S ’25)

General Surgery Teacher of the Year

Benzon Dy, M.D. (S ’13, SEN ’14)
Division of Breast, Endocrine, Metabolic, and Gastrointestinal Surgery

Subspecialty Surgery Teacher of the Year

Kellie Mathis, M.D. (S ’05, CI ’07, S ’11, CRS ’12, CTSA ’13)
Division of Colon and Rectal Surgery

Off-Campus Teacher of the Year

Michael Roskos, M.D. (S ’19)
General Surgery, Southwest Wisconsin, La Crosse, Minnesota

Non-Surgeon Physician Teacher of the Year

Navtej Buttar, M.D. (GI ’01)
Division of Gastroenterology and Hepatology

Surgery Fellow Teacher of the Year



Recommended reading

Posts about similar topics: